La Moderna





Monday to Friday at 4.30 pm on La 1 y en RTVE Play

'La Moderna' is an ambitious co-production by RTVE and Mediawan with the participation of Boomerang TV and is based on the novel 'Tea rooms', by the Generation of '27 writer Luisa Carnés.

Madrid, 1930. Matilde is a young woman from a humble family who lives with her mother, Rosario, and her three brothers. She arrives looking for work at the La Moderna Tea Room, one of the most elegant cafes in Madrid, where she meets Íñigo, her teenage love. Íñigo is now a well-situated young man, the right hand of Don Jaime (José Luís García-Pérez), one of the most important businessmen in the city. Passion arises between the two young people again, but Doña Carla (Stéphanie Magnin), Don Jaime's wife and Iñigo's former girlfriend, is not willing to allow it.

The series is based on 'Tea rooms', a novel published in 1934 and one of the best known by Luisa Carnés, one of the great writers of the Generation of '27. The author was inspired by her own experiences as a waitress in a pastry shop. Madrid. The novel is a chronicle focused on the real experiences of women of the time.

Set in Madrid in 1930, the story portrays an exciting time based on the daily life of the workers and clients of a tea room near Puerta del Sol: new times, great social transformations and, also, space for good living and glamour.

In the tea room in which the story focuses, paradoxes and contradictions are observed. The opulence of the premises and the elegance of the clientele contrasts with the reality of its employees. One of the great strengths of the new RTVE series is the validity of its stories, which allow it to reflect the society of the time and the feelings, which will be the main driving force in its plots.


  • Production: Coproducida por RTVE y Mediawan con la participación de Boomerang TV. 


  • Directors: Liliana Bocanegra, Isaac Cantero, Pedro Martínez y David Montoya.


  • Script: Carlos Martín Eguía, Joaquín Santamaría, Jose Antonio López (Kata), Remedios Crespo, Ignasi Rubio, Juan Manuel Beiro, Ángela Armero, Neus Peidró, Miquel Peidró, Sergio Barrejón, Jose Ángel Domínguez y Ernesto Pozuelo. 


  • Cast: Helena Ezquerro, Almagro San Miguel, Stéphanie Magnin, Jose Luis García - Pérez, Miryam Gallego, Berta Castañé, Rodrigo Simón Cosette Silguero, Teresa Hurtado de Ory, Sara Rivero, Bárbara Mestanza, Lorea Carballo, Berta Galo, Carles Sanjaime, Andrea Fiorillo, María José Parra, Carlos Librado, Xavier Murua, Llorenç González, Germán Alcarazu, Pablo Álvarez,  Berta Galo, Begoña Maestre, Álex Adrover, Carlos Serrano Clark, Armando del Río, Eva Pedraza, Manuel Banderas...